"Ryan Pollie Quartet" Cassette by Ryan Pollie Quartet


Experimental Artist Ryan Pollie has been busy exploring the soundscapes of our past. After a career’s worth of earthy folk rock albums, his last releases have been works on cassette loops [The Fridge], or large intuitive performance [with Academy of Light]. New Project “ Ryan Pollie Quartet ” aims to photograph the city streets of a bygone era. Beat Poetry and Be-Bop jazz - the album consists of early 60’s recording techniques and sound paintings. RPQ is inspired by the “free jazz” of Cecil Taylor, Keith Jarrett, Lowell Davidson, Paul Bley, Peter Brotzmann, Borah Bergman, Alexander von Schlippenbach, and Sun Ra. However just as present are the modernist avant garde composers Robert Ashley, Anthony Braxton, Morton Feldmen, Jerry Hunt, Aaron Copland, and John Cage. Combining synthesizer and tape loops with upright bass, piano and drums - the Ryan Pollie Quartet takes on a shape of its own.

1. Conception
2. Birth
3. Death
4. Quantum Afterlife
5. Digital Conciousness Upload

Release Date: December 1, 2023

released by:
Perpetual Doom
release/catalogue number: